I have had my share of misfortune in this world. At a time, things were so bad that I wondered what grievious sin I had committed. Many times I felt trapped in an air-tight container, gagged and bound with the thought that my misery would be my end.

But then came rescue!

Rescue however was shortlived as I became a prisoner to my past. Yes, I was physically free but emotionally scarred with a seemingly unbreakable bond to my experience that made me a cynic of the worst kind.

Then you came along…

The numbness that seemed to define my existence gave way and for the first time in a long while, I heaved a sigh of relief. How marvelous it was that what I  needed to came to me. It was like a more than adequate compensation for the bad times. It was like a drop of the most nutritious and purest of waters descended upon me in drought and the withered leaf of hope came alive and blossomed into the most beautiful thing ever.

And my heart came alive!

Renewed, resuscitated, rejuvenated. I suddenly realized that my adventure in search of what should be had always been. It was the master stroke of fate to bring us together, in close proximity for the first time for the seeds of magic to come alive. I have been in awe ever since.

What does the future hold?

I don’t know but what I do know is there is no one I would rather walk with other than you; under the rain or in the sun. Through the thunderous sea storms, the ice bergs and the killer sharks, the mast of our love boat shall remain upright sailing to that sure destination because I have faith in you as you have in me. With our hands clasped in togetherness and oneness of purpose, the goal is sure.

Battered and bruised we may be, but never beaten. Victorious we shall emerge through life’s storms because we share something precious, something priceless, something powerful.

Something called hope.

For Lolah.

Love always.

Malcolm.

