So I stumbled on Elnathan’s brief notes on colorism in Nigeria and I was overwhelmed by the new perspective his views showed me.

Personally, I do not care much for people who take bleaching as a personal career or life mission. In fact, in the past, I have broken up with ladies who I discovered were active participants in this venture. Not that I hate fair-skinned women; I certainly do not but I always felt there was an underlying self-insufficiency and self-loathing that would some how rear up its ugly head and I don’t need that drama.

However, what I failed to consider is how much on a daily basis we are blasted by both direct and subliminal messaging on how “fair is better”. The media sells success to us in fair skins and white complexions and we buy it wholeheartedly.

In the vain world we live in today, its an uphill task to remind people that the worth of a person is in the content of their character and not in the colour of their skin. With the influence pop culture has today, how do you fight and reverse this trend?

With the various “skin lightening”, “skin toning” or whatever fancy euphemism given to bleaching creams that litter our cosmetic stores that are the first choice for ladies who aspire to be white skinned, where do we start from in fighting this steroetype that fair is better and more attractive?

Food for thought.

Kindly click on the link below and read what Elnathan had to say.

https://storify.com/Elnathan/colorism-in-nigeria

